Where is Your Faith?

“And He said unto them, Where is your faith?”  Luke 8:25 (KJV)

I was in the eye of the storm.  Health problems, financial problems, professional problems.  One challenge after another. Why is this happening to me?  What did I do to deserve this? What am I going to do?  Lord, I am sinking fast?  Can’t you see what I’m going through?  Don’t you care?

These thoughts clouded my mind and this day I felt particularly pitiful and was selfishly bemoaning my predicament when my adult son,who had his own concerns, stopped by to visit.  Regrettably, he saw my prelude to a self-imposed breakdown and calmly asked, “Mom, where is your faith?” 

I’m not sure why, but that question from someone who looked to me for guidance, deeply affected me. I felt embarrassed and ashamed.  More importantly, this was not my first storm nor even my worst.  Every promise God made, God kept.  “God had indeed been Good to me all the time” and I knew that “all the time God was indeed Good.”  I never had a problem that God had not solved.  God rescued me from impossible situations more times than I can remember.  The problem was, I took God’s benefits and Blessings for granted.  Trust in God, for me, became expectation from God.  I expected God to Bless me–to heal me–to save me. The nerve of me to always expect God’s faithfulness when I was so faithless.  Where was my faith?”

Jesus disciples had been with Him from the beginning.  They had heard Him teach multitudes, heard His parables, saw him restore sight to the blind, cause the lame to walk, cleanse lepers, and even raise the dead.  And yet in the midst of a single storm, they forgot who they had on board. They forgot that this very man was also very God.

Undeniably, just as did Christ’s Disciples, we too forget that life’s storms come with their contrary winds and fierce waves. And the Lord asks, “Where is your faith?”  I pray it is in the One who is faithful even when we are not — the One who speaks “Peace be still” to all of life’s storms — and they obey.

 

