S.O.S.

“. . .  For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.” Matthew 7:7 (NIV)

One dark fall morning, running late and with very little gas, I headed out on my way to a school assignment.  It was not a new assignment, I had been there before, just not recently. I forgot my cell phone, GPS, and was relying on map directions. I could hardly see the directions because of the darkness. I was so lost. On these country roads, there are no shoulders or stopping places, you just have to keep driving until you get to a safe place which could be a matter of many miles.

The road is extremely dark. I do not even have the benefit of the headlights of other cars, and am trying to read directions while driving (something very dangerous, by the way). I finally give up on the directions and continue to drive through the blackness when I see a school sign, but it is on the other side of the highway.  So I drive on searching for the nearest exit, or at least a place to make a left turn, when the opportunity finally comes 20 miles and 30 minutes later.  I get to the sign and it is the wrong school!  Frustrated,  still running late and worried whether I have enough gas, I pull off to the side of the road, sit in the car, and pray this prayer:  “Father, I’m so tired. Please help me.”

I start out again and must have driven 10 miles when I see the school at the top of the hill and there is a gas station a short distance before the school.  I gas up at the station and head to the school. I arrive on time and to my surprise, my first period class is a 90-minute planning period. Look at God!!  The day turned out to be bright and beautiful–the kids were great. Yes, God is a very present help in the time of trouble!!!  I was on the right road, I simply needed to ask to find my way. Once I acknowledged I could not do it alone, I was led by THE TRUE WAY!!

, , , ,